.20 or above

28 A.R.S. § 1382.A.2, Extreme Driving Under the Influence With an Alcohol Level Above .20%

For a violation of 28 A.R.S. § 1382.A.2, Extreme Driving Under the Influence With an Alcohol Level Above .20%, the maximum penalty is up to six (6) months in jail, a fine of up to $2,500.00 plus surcharges, and up to five (5) years probation. The minimum penalties are:

a.) Alcohol Abuse Screening and any treatment/counseling ordered therefrom, which you must pay for. In addition, the screening service may order the defendant to attend at least 1 M.A.D.D. Victim Impact Panel;
b.) 45 consecutive days in jail, 31 of which may be suspended by the court provided the defendant completes the screening and counseling and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in a motor vehicle for 12 months;
c.) $500 fine plus surcharges;
d.) In Maricopa County pay jail costs in an amount not to exceed $267 for the first day and $41 for each additional day;
e.) Pay a Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250;
f.) Pay a State Prison Construction assessment of $1,000;
g.) Pay a State General Fund assessment of $1,000;
h.) Pay restitution to the victim of the accident for their economic loss. Pursuant to a decision of the Arizona Court of Appeals, “economic loss” includes wages lost by victims while they come to court for the case.

For a second violation of 28 A.R.S. § 1382.A.2, Extreme Driving Under the Influence with an Alcohol Level of .20% or More, the maximum penalty is up to six (6) months in jail, a fine of up to $2,500.00 plus surcharges, and up to five (5) years probation. The minimum penalties are:

a.) Alcohol Abuse Screening and any treatment/counseling ordered therefrom, which you must pay for. In addition, the screening service may order the defendant to attend at least 1 M.A.D.D. Victim Impact Panel;
b.) 180 consecutive days in jail (none suspended);
c.) $1,250 fine plus surcharges;
d.) In Maricopa County pay jail costs in an amount not to exceed $133 for the first day and $81 for each additional day;
e.) Pay a Driving Under the Influence assessment of $250;
f.) Pay a State Prison Construction assessment of $1,250;
g.) Pay a State General Fund assessment of $1,250;
h.) Surrender driver’s license, if any, to the court;
i.) Perform thirty (30) hours of community service;
j.) Pay restitution to the victim of the accident for their economic loss. Pursuant to a decision of the Arizona Court of Appeals, “economic loss” includes wages lost by victims while they come to court for the case.